The Best Music Videos, Part I

I did a twopart post on the best award show performances, I figure music videos would be a good next step:

Christina Aguilera – “Candyman”

3 Christina’s are better than one. Plus, the campy feel of this video in retro Technicolor really hits at the 20’s 30’s and 40’s vibe Christina was getting at with Back to Basics, the album that has this Andrews Sisters-sampling gem:


 LeAnn Rimes – “And It Feels Like”

This is the kind of ballad I’ve always wanted LeAnn to sing. With its cascading belts, she really shows her range. The video depicts the country/pop-crossover singer as an actress letting go of a relationship with a (presumably British) prince. This is as close of a video to Lucky as LeLe fans are gonna get. And LeAnn Rimes singing a ballad in a gorgeous dress? Yeah, sure:

Beyoncé – “If I Were A Boy”When I first saw this, I thought “she’s copying off of Ciara“. Well how dare I cause Bey got pretty deep and emotional in this video. It was almost like a mini made-for-TV movie. A good one. Don’t tell me you didn’t feel betrayed when stuff got real in this video:

Part two is coming soon!

Thoughts?

