Jay-Z Slams "We Are the World" Remake

Claiming “Some things are just untouchable,” the rapper recently told MTV News why he chose not to participate in the 25th anniversary remake of the Quincy Jones single. The song, which formally helped with aid for Africa, now contributes to Haitian relief from its proceeds. “I know everybody is gonna take this wrong: ‘We Are the World,’ I love it, and I understand the point and think it’s great. But I think ‘We Are the World’ is like ‘Thriller’ to me. I don’t ever wanna see it touched,” he said.

Critics also agree with the rapper – The Washington Post said “[t]he updated take was horribly oversung…Guilty parties from the opening verse include Jennifer Hudson, Justin Bieber, Josh Groban and Jennifer Nettles of Sugarland, each of them cramming too many notes into not enough syllables.” Of the rapping toward the end of the remake, the New York Times said “…Lil Wayne, you’re no Bob Dylan.”

He does have a point. I don’t care much for the remake myself, but I’m also not a fan of star-studded charity singles with way too many stars in the recording booth. Too many voices get over looked, and often times the final product just has too many things going on.

Give “We Are the World: 25 for Haiti” a chance and let me know what you think. Check out the video below:

Sources: omg! news on Yahoo!, EW.com

2 thoughts on “Jay-Z Slams "We Are the World" Remake

  1. Honestly I say it doesn't matter if Jay-z wasn't there..It doesn't matter cause the song wasn't dedicated to him..And if he had nothing to do with it oh well..People donated time…Into something that had so much power and meaning..Which shows more than just doing a whole new song..Taking a song that is amazing and doing it over with people who have awesome voices isn't wrong. I want to thank those people..It was a message well sent

  2. I agree with Jay-Z, and I thought that what he did with U2 and Rihanna was kind of making a charity song for Haiti. That was good! The new "We Are The World" video is alright. It's not as great as the original and they didn't do that great of a job of putting MJ next to sister Janet but I still liked the song–aside from Wyclef's semi-annoying wailing.

Thoughts?

