Janet: 1st Interview Since Michael’s Passing

The interview is accompanied by a beautiful photoshoot, all in the October issue of Harper’s Bazaar.I admire her for being so strong to do an interview so soon after. I’ve always liked her as an artist, but now, I have even more respect for her as a person. She’s phenomenal.

Here are some snippets from the interview:

On Paris’ heartbreaking comment at Michael’s memorial service: “I was really proud […] People said to me that Michael’s daughter speaking really gave them a sense of how he was as a father, in her words. Paris is incredibly smart; they are all so smart. She’s a sweet girl. The kids are doing well.

On how she’s doing: “I’ve been doing okay[…] Work helps focus all of that energy on something that is of value to you.”

On her role as the family rock: “Now at least I know that I can step up to the plate and not crumble when I’m needed. When it comes to something like this that is so, so serious, so painful, so traumatic, I can handle it.”

On her brother’s style: “My brother is, I mean was…” […] “You have to forgive me, because it’s really hard to believe he’s passed. He’d have the same red shirt, the same black pants, the same white T-shirt. Mike was very simple…”

What she wants you to know about Michael: “He loved to laugh. The last time we were together, he’d laugh so hard, he would just start crying. Sometimes his humor would be corny, sometimes dry. He loved the Three Stooges, he loved slapstick, he loved Eddie Murphy in his silly comedies. He loved to have fun. He loved to play.”

The interview has tons of other good information. You can read the entire article here.

Source & picture credit: harpersbazaar.com

Thoughts?

